New Free Pattern! Rolling Waves Slouch Pattern

It’s been a long  time since I have been on here. A few years ago, I stopped doing a lot of crochet for profit when I got pregnant with my second son. I really lost time for crocheting for profit when I switched jobs and no longer could crochet at work. I take occasional orders from faithful customers but since my break, I don’t seem to have the traffic I used to. I’d like to get into taking orders for people again so I am working on my networking!
I had my third child 8 weeks ago and since I’m on maternity leave, my hook and I have had a lot of time together. I’ve been on a hat kick and came up with a new pattern I wanted to share with ya’ll! I’ve called it the Rolling Waves Slouch Hat. 

Don’t mind my mannequin. My two year old son found it and decided to give the poor thing a nose job.
Now this pattern hasn’t  been tested so if any errors are found  please let me know so I can update 😊. This will make an adult sized hat.
Pattern notes:

Chain at beginning of rows do not count as a stitch.

Hat is worked in one long strip and slip stitched into hat form at the end.

Entire pattern is worked in the back loop only.


Materials:

H hook (5.00 mm)

Worsted weight yarn approximately 200 yards (I used Willow Burrow in Orchird)

Yarn needle

Fur pom (I bought mine from Wal-Mart. It was a $1 keychain that I removed the keychain part from)


Pattern:

Chain 46

1) slip stitch in 2nd chain from hook and the next 14 stitches. *hdc in next 5 stitches, slip stitch in next 5. Repeat from * to end.

2) ch 1. *Slip stitch in next 5 stitches. Hdc in next 5 stitches. Repeat from * 2 more times. Slip stitch in next 15 stitches. 

3) ch 1. Slip stitch in next 10 stitches. *Hdc in next 5 stitches. Slip stitch in next 5 stitches. Repeat from * to end.

4) ch 2. *hdc in next 5 stitches. Slip stitch in next 5 stitches. Repeat from * 3 more times. Slip stitch in next 5 stitches. Chain 1.

Repeat rows 1-4 until your hat measures 19″. I ended up with 68 rows. The edges match up nicer if you end on row 4.  With right side facing in, fold in half.

Slip stitch along edge. Fasten off and leave a long tail. Using long tail, weave through the top and cinch to close. I like to weave through every two rows. Knot tightly.

Turn work right side out and attach pom. I like to use my ends to attach the pom. weave in ends.

I hope you like this pattern and found it easy to follow. Please let me know if there are any questions I can answer. You may make items from my pattern to sell but please reference my pattern.

20 thoughts on “New Free Pattern! Rolling Waves Slouch Pattern

  1. I am having a really hard time at putting a sl st in the back stitches for the ribbing part. What am I doing wrong?

  2. I’m using this terrific pattern with driving and a 6.5MM hook. Need to know the gauge so I can adjust accordingly. Or if you can advise on adjusting the pattern for less stitches would be great. Thanks much!!

  3. Please can you tell me how long the piece shold be from brim to the top of the hat? It seems to be coming up short….

  4. Hi, are all the first stitches done in the stitch containing the ch1. How about row 4 does the hdc go into the stitch containing the ch2?

  5. Thank you! One more question if I may? The whole of the hat is done in the back loop, isn’t it? Can I also ask are you a loose or tight crocheter? The person I would be doing the hat for has a 23″ head, not sure if I should go up to a 6.00mm hook?

  6. You say to repeat rows 1-4 but on row 1 it says to go into 2nd ch from hook etc, Should that first part of row 1 be repeated EVERY time i.e. going into 2nd ch from hook? Also there is a ch1 at the end of row 4, should that be there?

  7. Hi, managed to sort out my problems with this pattern. Just one final query. On the very first row do I just go under one loop of the chain i.e. the top chain facing you or under two loops as normal?

Leave a Reply

