Football hat (free pattern included)

Today I am working on a football hat order and I’m so excited about fall I am going to share my pattern with you! This hat is for a 2 year old so I am making sure it is about 19 inches around and 7 inches long. I am also using an I hook and I love this yarn from Hobby Lobby.

First I chain 4, then slip stitch to.make a circle.

Chain2 (which does not count as a stitch here or throughout). Hdc 8 then slip stitch to your chain 2.

Chain2. 2 Hdc in each stitch around (16 stitches so far). Slip stitch to your chain 2.
Chain 2. 2 hdc, 1 hdc around. ( So you are increasing every other stitch to make 24 stitches) Slip stitch to your chain 2.

Chain 2. 2 hdc in first stitch, 1 hdc in next 2 stitches. (32 stitches). Slip stitch to chain 2.

Chain 2. 2 hdc in first stitch, 1 hdc in next 3 stitches around (40 stitches). Slip stitch to chain 2.

Now I want to change to my white yarn. Chain 2. Hdc in 9 stitches. 2 hdc in next stitch. Repeat around. (55 stitches). Slip stitch to chain 2. Phew, we are done increasing. Switch back to your brown yarn. This is what you should have so far:

image

Now chain 2 and hdc around. Slip stitch to your chain 2. (55 stitches) Repeat for 8 rows, then switch back to white.

Chain 2, Hdc around and slip stitch to chain 2. Switch back to brown.

image

Chain 2, hdc in each st around. Slip stitch to chain 2.
Repeat once.

Chain 1. Sc in each stitch around. Slip stitch to chain 1. Finish off and weave in your ends.

image

Now you are going to use a long string of white yarn and sew your football stitches on. Weave in the.loose ends and you are done!

image

Please do not claim or sell this pattern as your own. Please link back to this post.

Leave a Reply

